Skip to content

R.I.P.

October 5, 2006

I said once that I wouldn’t put up personal stuff up here, but I really think I should write this out. I murdered a lizard today. (Did someone just snort? Never mind)

Well anyway, I was driving along a highway, going pretty fast (it was a highway after all). I was in the first (or right-most – we drive on the left side of the road around these parts) lane.  Beside me was a bloody long lorry (truck for some, trailer for others). It was slightly in front and left of my car. And in the middle of the road, between the lanes where the lorry and my car were trundling along, was a lizard. A huge lizard, by city standards: it was way more than a metre long. A metre and a half, from head to tail, I’d suppose.

One can expect how the story goes from here. The lizard was basking in between the lanes, and the lorry was ahead. It drove along pretty much normally, and the lizard naturally avoided it. By going the other way. Which was in front of me. I hit the brakes, but the lizard freezes moments before it reaches safety at the side of the road. Profanity ensues. The car bounces a bit, with the feel of maybe rolling over a upraised section of the road. I have hit the lizard. There was a car behind me, and so I didn’t stop. I don’t know now if I would have stopped even if there wasn’t another car behind me. It was a hit-and-run, now that I consider it.

I don’t know which part of the lizard I hit, really, but I’m pretty sure the poor guy is dead; if I didn’t kill it instantly I suppose the car behind me did.

I’m writing this as ostensibly as an apology to the poor animal, much good it wouldn’t do. Perhaps this is more catharsis for myself. I know an apology won’t do a thing for the creature, whether it survived or not. But I’m sorry. I’m so sorry. Saying “I won’t do it again” is extremely stupid, so I won’t say it. Instead I guess I’ll offer you a prayer, and hope you will be happy in whatever reptillian heaven you end up in.

Please rest in peace.

From → Categorised

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

