Skip to content

The Silence of the ……?

July 9, 2013

I should perhaps apologize for not updating very much these days. [Inner Heckler: Nobody cares!]

Yet when I sit before the keyboard, I start with ideas on what I want to say, but confronted with the reality of self-expression, I blank out or write something that is utterly inane or banal [IH: Like you’re doing now.]

Even this piece, I wrote this in my notebook; it appears easier to express things when there is no potential audience, when viewers are removed yet another step. Even when this ‘viewer’ is but a monitor. Isn’t it funny? That sitting down to type something to be published online feels like I am screaming – like an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing – upon a crowded podium. [IH: Wait, crowded podium? Not to a crowded hall? Me: Yes… I do mean the podium.] It’s hubris I say, a common theme of the modern Internet world.

Perhaps the Internet, with its egalitarian “Everyone can be heard!” principles has made us feel by far more important that we really are.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

